

Board of Trustees

The governing body of the Mediapolis Public Library is the Board of Trustees. The Board is composed of five residents of the City of Mediapolis who are appointed by the Mayor with the approval of the Mediapolis City Council. Appointments are for six years; terms are staggered. The Board of Trustees shall meet monthly in the Meeting Room in the Library. Meetings are open to the public.

Board Members are: Jared Schmidgall, President Michael Heiens, Vice President Rebecca Beekman, Treasurer Lori Carnes, Secretary Erika Salek, Trustee

As an administrative board, the Mediapolis Public Library Board has the power to:

- Hire and evaluate the library director, determining salaries and compensation for the director and the library staff
- Establish the library's line item budget within the funding limits established by the city council
- Oversee the spending and approve the library's expenditures
- Develop and adopt policies for the library's operation
- Engage in active short-term and long-range planning for the library's future
- Exercise general oversight and governance of the library's operation

Reviewed November, 2020 Reviewed January, 2019 Reviewed July, 2017 Reviewed June, 2015 Reviewed December, 2011 Reviewed August, 2008 Reviewed March, 2006 Reviewed October, 2004